Telefon: +43(0) 662 834 602 - 0

RTGA - Real-Time Geo Awareness

2007 to 2008

The project RTGA was dedicated to modelling, analysis and interpretation of environmental indicators with the aid of a distributed framework consisting of mobile sensors, geodatabases and server-side geographical analysis components, based on open standards.

The objective of this research project was the development of a standardised sensor network for an indicator based "real time geo-awareness", which includes collection, interpretation and distribution of environmental information. Measuring instruments are conventional sensors for the measurement of environmental parameters such as air temperature, insulation etc. as well as cameras and various other sensors. The system is based on a prototype of a mobile GPS-based sensor network measuring various environmental indicators. The standardised communication uses a technology called "sensor web" which stands for a network of sensors which are able to communicate and interact in an intelligent way. The project consortium relies on innovative web-based server-side GIS processing systems which allow automatic modelling and analysis of the data measured in real-time. The important innovation of this project is the real time generalisation to geographic layers unlike the post-processing which is done nowadays.

The outcomes of the project are a construction kit consisting of sensor web compliant measuring units for the collection of useable information from spatial data measured in real time and a set of "real-time-geoprocessing" web services which allow the evaluation and analysis of the raw data and the transformation of the data to geographical information layers for the modelling of environmental indicators.

FFG
Dr. Manfred Mittlböck
Telefon: +43(0) 662 834 602 - 0

Telefon: +43(0) 662 834 602 - 0

RTGA - Real-Time Geo Awareness

2007 bis 2008

Das Projekt RTGA widmete sich der Modellierung, Analyse und Auswertung von Umweltindikatoren mit Hilfe eines verteilten, auf offenen Standards basierenden, Frameworks, das aus mobilen Messsensoren, Geodatenbanken und serverbasierten geo­graphischen Analysekomponenten besteht.

Ziel des Forschungsprojektes war die Entwicklung eines standardisierten Sensornetzwerkes für die indikatorbasierte "real-time geo-awareness", also der Erfassung, Auswertung und Verteilung von Umweltinformation. Als Messinstrumente kamen dabei herkömmliche Sensoren zur Messung von Umweltparametern wie beispielsweise Lufttemperatur, Strahlungsparameter usw. aber auch Kameras sowie beliebige Sonden zum Einsatz. Das entwickelte System basiert auf einer prototypischen Implementierung eines mobilen GPS-gestützten Sensornetzwerkes zur Messung Umweltmessgrößen. Als Basis für die standardisierte Kommunikation dient "Sensor Web", eine Technologie, die für Netzwerke von Sensoren steht, die intelligent miteinander kommunizieren und (re-)agieren. Das Projektkonsortium setzt dabei auf technologisch innovative, webbasierte serverside GIS Processing Systeme, die die automatische Modellierung und Analyse der gewonnenen Echtzeitmessdaten ermöglichen. Diese Generalisierung zu Geodatenebenen in Echtzeit im Gegensatz zu derzeitigen Postprocessing-Verfahren ist in diesem Bereich die entscheidende wissenschaftliche Innovation des Projektes.

Ergebnis des Projektes ist ein Baukasten bestehend aus Sensor Web konformen Messeinheiten zur Gewinnung verwertbarer Information aus räumlichen Echtzeitmessdaten und einem Set an "real-time-geoprocessing" Web-Services zur geographischen Auswertung, Aufbereitung und Analyse der Rohdaten hin zu Informationsebenen für die Modellierung von Umweltindikatoren.

FFG
Dr. Manfred Mittlböck
Telefon: +43(0) 662 834 602 - 0